Loading ...

The Spanish Supercomputing Network

The Spanish Supercomputing Network (RES) is composed of 11 institutions and their supercomputers. It is coordinated by the Barcelona Supercomputing Center.



The RES aims to manage high performance computing technologies to promote the progress of excellent science and innovation in Spain.

To this end, the RES offers its resources through an open common competitive access. Thus, the application procedure is unique for all the RES nodes and based on criteria of efficacy, efficiency and transparency. This common access guarantees optimal use of the resources available in the network (computing, storage, parallelization, etc.).

The RES also promotes and executes common interest actions for all its nodes. For instance, it promotes shared investment plans, training and dissemination, and joint participation in national and international calls and projects.


The Spanish Supercomputing Network was created in March 2007 by the Spanish Ministry of Education and Science. Initially, it included eight institutions (Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Universidad de Zaragoza, Universidad de Cantabria, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Universidad de Valencia, Universidad de Málaga, Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias and Instituto Tecnológico de Canarias). In March 2015 the RES added new nodes and now it is composed of 11 institutions and 12 supercomputers.

Since 2014, the RES has been part of the Spanish “Map of Unique Scientific and Technical Infrastructure (ICTS)”, as it is an infrastructure exceptional in its field, with public ownership and open to competitive access.

Governing bodies

The RES Council is the main governing body of the Spanish Supercomputing Network and is composed of one representative from each institution. The Spanish General Secretary of Scientific Policy Coordination nominates the Council President, and the Vice-President is the BSC Council representative.

Among other issues, the RES Council decides on the nomination of RES manager, the annual work plan and associated budget, the RES strategic plan, inclusion/exclusion of nodes and the minimal technical requirements for the supercomputers incorporated into the RES, approval of the annual report and approval of the Access Committee's working rules.

The RES Users’ Committee

CURES (Comité de Usuarios de la Red Española de Supercomputación) was established on 9 February 2010. Its purpose is to provide advice and feedback to the RES manager and technicians about the current state and future delivery of RES resources and services. CURES aims to promote optimal use of the high performance computing facilities by sharing information about users’ experiences, suggesting new research and technology directions in scientific computing, and voicing user concerns. RES users can contact with CURES through the online form available in the intranet.

CURES members are eight scientists, two from each RES area, chosen by the Access Committee Coordinators. All are PIs (Principal Investigators) and users of RES resources.

The Chair and Vice‐Chair are elected for a two-year period from amongst its members, and half of the members are renewed every year. The current CURES chair is Carme Rovira and the Vice-Chair will be soon elected.

Current CURES team  

  • Representatives of Mathematics, Physics and Engineering
    • Javier Junquera  (Dpt. de Ciencias de la Tierra y Física de la Materia Condensada,  Universidad de Cantabria) - Chair of the CURES
    • José Román (Dpt. Sistemes Informàtics i Computació, Universitat Politècnica de València)
  • Representatives of Chemistry and Material Sciences
    • Marcel Swart (Institut de Química Computacional i Catálisi, Universitat de Girona)
    • María Verónica Ganduglia-Pirovano (Instituto de Catálisis y Petroleoquímica ICP-CSIC)
  • Representatives of Biomedicine and Life Sciences
    • Antoni Planas (Dpt. de Bioenginyeria, Universitat Ramon Llull)
    • Gianni de Fabritiis (Computational Biophysics Laboratory,  Universitat Pompeu Fabra)
  • Representatives of Astronomy, Space and Earth Sciences
    • Miguel Angel Aloy (Grupo de Astrofísica Relativista, Universitat de València)
    • Daniel Stich (Instituto Andaluz de Geofísica, Universidad de Granada)